“Why I CrossFit” – Sept 19

Submitted by CrossfitHaze

A client testimony

“All my life I have been involved in competitive sports and always belonged to a team. I learned the importance of having people in your life who care about you enough to push you to your limits at a very young age. After high school, I no longer had the same sense of competition in my sports as I was accustomed to, and physical activity became more of a chore to me than something I did for fun. I found CrossFit at a time in my life when I felt very lost and confused. I didn’t have my teammates and I didn’t have my sports anymore. I searched for things that would fill the void, but nothing seemed to replace that feeling of adrenaline and competition that I missed so much. I would go to the gym every day, but training by myself was never nearly as fun as training with people who had the same passion for sport and physical activity as well as the drive and determination to be better at what it is they chose to do. I felt lost. Before I began CrossFit, I was a doubter about the sport’s approach to fitness. I didn’t understand how they trained, why they did what they chose to do, or how they figured that they would see results from their workouts.

I, very clearly, remember the day that Jon Robert invited me to come and try a CrossFit workout. I also remember him saying, “if you don’t like it, then you never have to come back. Just give it a shot first and see what you think.” After my first workout, I was hooked. The fact that I had people there doing the workout with me, and cheering me on to completion was amazing. It reminded me of the times when my teammates would cheer me on in practice or during a game. And, the best part was that I had so much fun while doing the workout!

CrossFit is more than just exercise, it is a lifestyle, but only if you choose to make it that way. It’s all about self-improvement and pushing yourself to achieve more than you ever imagined you could. No one cares about how much weight you can lift, or how many repetitions you can do. The only thing that matters is that you are there and working hard to improve yourself every day you train. Another thing I love about CrossFit is that you will never have the same workout twice, so getting caught in a boring training routine is not an option. Each workout is developed by the trained coaches at our gym, and tailored to each individual’s ability. At CrossFit Haze, you will never be judged or negatively viewed, only encouraged and coached to be the best that you can be.

I have been CrossFitting for over a year, and have no intentions of stopping any time soon. Had someone asked me a year ago if I CrossFit, I would have been shy to answer yes, however, I am now proud to say that I am a member of the CrossFit Haze community. Each member is just as important as the next. We are truly a family. As an advocator for healthy living, I believe that there are many ways that people can live a healthier, more active lifestyle. Having been very active all my life, I can appreciate and respect all the different ways in which people choose to be active, whether it be running, biking, swimming, weight lifting, playing sports, etc. However, if you’re looking for something different to try this fall; something where you can be active, spend time with others and make new friends while still having fun and becoming a healthier you, I highly suggest visiting the team at CrossFit Haze. Coming from a former skeptic, you will never know if CrossFit is for you until you give it a try.”

Leave a Reply

