HOAX Canada Revenue calls continue to harass people in our area

Remember that hoax call I received (and reported on HERE) a few weeks ago? – Yes, the one claiming to come from the Canada Revenue Agency –  well it seems the hoaxsters are still very much in business. Not only did I receive another call this week, but these people appear to be pretty active in calling many others across our area and beyond.

Here are letters received from readers just today.

Letter 1… “We got this call on wed night. She was very rude. I asked for her employees # she gave me this number also her name. Told us to prepare to have our fraud charges to be public soon. Where do these people get the Gaul to threaten people?

Letter 2… “I got this call this morning and like you it sent my blood pressure way up and my husband wasn’t home to deal with it and I felt I couldn’t wait , but again like you red flags,,, he didn’t mention a number to call back, he didn’t refer to us by name and then when I was going to call him I checked call display for a number and it did not say GOV’T OF CANADA or CRA?? another big red flag for me so like you I decided to google and low and behold your story matched mine right down to this creeps name:) thank you my blood pressure came down then I was just mad thinking a senior could have a heart attack getting a call like this . I posted your post then recorded the phone message and got that sent out on FB. 🙂 Hugs!

Letter 3… “Got one of these today. Came from number 613-366-3900, but it was Jonathan Knight. I panicked a bit, but then was like “wait a sec, a lot of people I know have been mentioning it on Facebook.” Anyway, almost exactly the same message, slightly different though.”

And this one came yesterday.

Exactly the same call came today, at first I had to listen a couple of times then looked up the information on line came across all of this and there you go. I thought all of these calls were supposed to be stopped with the no call sign-up? Sure hope that didn’t cost a bundle because nothing has changed at my house with the amount of prank calls coming in.

And this one about a week ago.

I just got the same call today! Wow. The message is verbatim to the one you received. I felt it was a hoax at the outset. There is no way they CRA would be contacting anyone presumably with such dire news, through a recorded phone message I was certain. I looked up to see if anyone else has had these.. and found this. Thanks for posting it.

Folks, if you receive one of these calls, please understand that typically the CRA does NOT call Canadians, they use written correspondence.

I invite you to re-read the original story HERE, advanced knowledge and understanding might save you from going into shock or worse.

3 responses to “HOAX Canada Revenue calls continue to harass people in our area

  1. We got this call on wed night. She was very rude. I asked for her employees # she gave me this number also her name. Told us to prepared to have our fraud charges to be public soon.

    We’re do these people get the Gaul to threaten people.

  2. I got a call on my message today; knew immediately that it was a scam! Heck! H&R Block filed my taxes!

    FYI the number was 613 699 2403 (Ontario)! When will these creeps stop doing this! Down right evil!!!!!

  3. I have a hard time understanding why these guys cant be shutdown immediately. I have reported this same number 613-699-2403 to the RCMP, and they said they are investigating. You would think in 2015 they would know exactly where those calls are coming from, and at the very least shut their phone down.

Leave a Reply

